Digital Scriptorium
Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania, Rare Book & Manuscript Library,  LJS 211
Description: ff. 1 - Formerly owned by Sir Thomas Phillipps (ms. 27838, number written in ink on verso). Sold at auction at Sotheby's, 26 June 1974, lot 3057, probably to Paul Grinke (Eye, Suffolk; book label on former housing, with 1974 written on it in ink). Sold at auction at Sotheby's, 22 June 1982, lot. 29. Appears in Sam Fogg Ltd.'s cat. 16 (1995), no. 44. Formerly owned by John D. Stanitz (Cleveland, Ohio), Ms. 42. Acquired by Lawrence J. Schoenberg with other Stanitz manuscripts, Sept. 1997. Gift of Lawrence J. Schoenberg and Barbara Brizdle, 2011 - Described in Transformation of knowledge: early manuscripts from the collection of Lawrence J. Schoenberg (London: Paul Holberton, 2006), p. 147
Number of Parts: 1 - Number of Images Available: 0
Direct Link:
Language: Latin Century: 13th

Part 1: f. 1
Description: - Parchment - 111 mm x 167 mm - 17 long lines
Country: Cardinal point:
Region: City:
Assigned Date: s. XIIIinSearchable Date Range: 1200 - 1215
Dated by scribe: NoInscribed Date:
Document: YesNumber of Scribes:
Script: Chancery
Notes: Latin
Number of Texts: 1

Text 1: f. 1r-v
Title: Deed
Language(s): Latin
Notes: Record of grant of land in Suffolk by Roger Bigod, Earl of Norfolk, to the sons of magister William de Risinges (Walter, Simon, Eustace, and Peter), for which Bigod received a riding horse, a windmill with a rood of land (possibly the earliest mention of a windmill in Suffolk), and an annual fee